Showing Leadership – An Unselfish Affair

A New, Old Perspective

A couple of weeks ago, after the passing of my Grandmother, I visited the home where her and my Grandfather had settled after he retired from a life of service with the Royal Air Force. With the instructions from my father to make sure we collected all of the valuable history that remained, I stumbled across one box full of Grandad’s old Air Force possessions. Within this box, one item in particular caught my attention. It was a small blue booklet printed in 1949. The title of this booklet was:

Leadership: Some notes for the guidance of Royal Air Force Officers

With my passion for leadership, this small book was a hidden gem. As I carefully thumbed through the pages, soaking in all the words, it was the final page that left me in awe. The conclusion as shown below, I felt gave a wonderful new, old perspective on leadership.

Leadership-RAF

The Ultimate Spiritual factor – Unselfishness

“Unselfishness is the very root of courage – and also, incidentally, of our own happiness.”

“In these ranks have trodden some of the greatest pioneers of our times. Your leadership, discipline and consideration can help the whole to remain what Shakespeare’s King Harry calls ‘We few, we happy few, we band of brothers'”.

As I read the two paragraphs contained within the Conclusion, and in particular the quotes above, I can’t help but be inspired. For years I have equated the Showing of Leadership as a primary component of living in a state of unconditional happiness. And, that both require us to be selfless, as we seek to serve others in society.

For many people, spirituality has different definitions depending on their beliefs. For me, regardless of our definition of spirituality, I believe that as captured so eloquently above, the ultimate spiritual factor through which we can define ourselves is unselfishness; selflessness. And it is through our selflessness and our desire to serve that we fulfil our true potential and live in a state of unconditional happiness.

Leave a Reply

